Bomb Gone

It’s only 5 minutes till the detonation. Everyone is rushing to the port side deck to get ready for the explosion. I quickly got the last pair of goggles and ran fast. I can’t possibly describe sitting down on the deck. I saw everyone sitting with their backs to the sea so I followed them and turned around. I remembered my last meal and my family. At that time when everyone was running to the deck my heart was pounding like crazy. I heard our commander shouting and repeating “ALL HANDS ON DECK.” There was a broadcast saying “TWO MINUTES TILL THE BURST.” I saw my friends panicking and terrified cause, this was our first time on a frigate. 60 seconds till the burst. Everyone was closing their eyes and counting down from 60…… .1 “BOMB GONE was shouted.” There was an explosion. My eyes were closed. I saw the bones of my hands like I had X-Ray vision. Another broadcast counting back up “1, 2, 3…15” “OPEN YOUR EYES, -OFF GOGGLES, -STAND UP-and FACE THE BURST.” I immediately followed the instructions. I opened my eyes, took off my goggles, stood up and faced the burst. A mushroom cloud appeared in the sky. I regretted my choices as I knew that the British were just using us for test dummies.

I felt my body getting weak and tired and put my hands on my ears to silence the sound of the explosion as it got louder and louder.  At that time, I was now thinking about my future and how I may have destroyed it.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *